Xbox One Game Previews

X
Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty isn't shaping up to be a Nioh 3, and it's all the better for it
Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty isn't shaping up to be a Nioh 3, and it's all the better for it

Team Ninja's latest go at the "masocore" genre feels like it has more in common with Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice than their own Nioh, and that's not a bad thing

preview by James Galizio on 26 September, 2022

Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII Reunion is shaping up to be a perfect remaster
Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII Reunion is shaping up to be a perfect remaster

Revisiting Zack Fair's journey has never been more exciting.

preview by James Galizio on 15 September, 2022

Star Ocean: The Divine Force feels like a gem in the rough
Star Ocean: The Divine Force feels like a gem in the rough

Despite a few technical hiccups, Star Ocean has never felt quite so ambitious.

preview by James Galizio on 15 September, 2022

NieR Automata: The End of YoRHa Edition is one of the most impressive Nintendo Switch ports I've played
NieR Automata: The End of YoRHa Edition is one of the most impressive Nintendo Switch ports I've played

NieR Automata's upcoming Switch conversion might just be the best port to the system yet

preview by James Galizio on 15 September, 2022

Marvel's Midnight Suns Preview - Firaxis brings their strategy pedigree to the Marvel Universe and sticks the hero landing
Marvel's Midnight Suns Preview - Firaxis brings their strategy pedigree to the Marvel Universe and sticks the hero landing

We checked out out the first five hours of Firaxis' upcoming strategy RPG; we got to try out its card-based combat, explore the Abbey Hub world, and much more!

preview by Scott White on 09 June, 2022

WrestleQuest Impressions
WrestleQuest Impressions

This pixel art game combines JRPG structure with the world of pro wrestling.

preview by Scott White on 27 April, 2022

Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising Preview
Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising Preview

This companion game shows some promise, though I wish the preview wasn't limited to the opening of the game.

preview by Adam Vitale on 24 March, 2022

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands is a promising new take on Borderlands
Tiny Tina's Wonderlands is a promising new take on Borderlands

Originally a Borderlands 2 DLC, Tiny Tina's first full adventure is off to a promising start.

preview by James Galizio on 28 February, 2022

Six hours with Elden Ring - Formidable, Fantastic, and Frightening
Six hours with Elden Ring - Formidable, Fantastic, and Frightening

Six hours with Elden Ring gives us time to contemplate its scope, ambition, and brutality. It's looking good.

preview by RPG Site Staff on 10 February, 2022

Elden Ring hands-on: a formidable, open adventure - and possibly FromSoftware’s best game yet
Elden Ring hands-on: a formidable, open adventure - and possibly FromSoftware’s best game yet

Most of us probably had a feeling Elden Ring was going to be pretty good - but can it live up to expectation? After hands-on, it sure seems like it might.

preview by Alex Donaldson on 10 November, 2021

Tales of Arise excels at much, but I've still got concerns - hands-on impressions
Tales of Arise excels at much, but I've still got concerns - hands-on impressions

I had the chance to spend a couple of hours with Bandai Namco's upcoming Tales of Arise, and I came away more excited than before but with a couple of concerns too.

preview by Scott White on 10 August, 2021

Tales of Arise Preview: one of 2021's most anticipated JRPGs is a great starting point for newcomers
Tales of Arise Preview: one of 2021's most anticipated JRPGs is a great starting point for newcomers

We got to go hands-on with a demo for Tales of Arise, and it's looking like it'll be one of 2021's most exciting JRPGs.

preview by George Foster on 17 June, 2021

Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin is Nioh for Final Fantasy Fans, and I Think That's Great
Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin is Nioh for Final Fantasy Fans, and I Think That's Great

Team Ninja's Nioh-infused Final Fantasy spinoff is finally playable with its limited-time trial, but how does it stack up?

preview by James Galizio on 16 June, 2021

Nier Replicant’s remaster fixes the worst thing about that flawed but broadly brilliant game
Nier Replicant’s remaster fixes the worst thing about that flawed but broadly brilliant game

Nier Replicant is only a remaster, not a remake - but it does do away with the absolute worst thing about the original, thank the heavens.

preview by Alex Donaldson on 29 March, 2021

Yakuza: Like A Dragon - A Fascinating Transformation into a Full Fledged Turn-Based RPG
Yakuza: Like A Dragon - A Fascinating Transformation into a Full Fledged Turn-Based RPG

Ever since the Yakuza series switched to the Dragon Engine, it's been inching closer and closer to being a RPG. Now, it really is one from top to bottom.

preview by Josh Torres on 12 October, 2020

Scarlet Nexus Hands-off Preview: An Urban, Brain Punk Action RPG
Scarlet Nexus Hands-off Preview: An Urban, Brain Punk Action RPG

We had a chance to watch a closed-door keynote and gameplay for the upcoming action RPG.

preview by Adam Vitale on 28 August, 2020

Windbound Preview - a roguelike survival game inspired by Breath of the Wild
Windbound Preview - a roguelike survival game inspired by Breath of the Wild

If you like these sub-genres and the idea of mashing them together, then Windbound might be right up your alley.

preview by Adam Vitale on 05 August, 2020

Star Renegades Preview - An Intricate and Tough Pixel-Art Roguelike
Star Renegades Preview - An Intricate and Tough Pixel-Art Roguelike

A roguelike pixel-art juggling a lot of different gameplay mechanics.

preview by Adam Vitale on 22 July, 2020

Cyberpunk 2077 hands-on: 8 points for RPG fans
Cyberpunk 2077 hands-on: 8 points for RPG fans

We've played Cyberpunk 2077 - so here's eight points from our hands-on experience with this year's biggest RPG.

preview by Alex Donaldson and Bryan Vitale on 25 June, 2020

Wasteland 3 Preview
Wasteland 3 Preview

Solid tactical and RPG components are evident, underneath a snarky, edgy overtone.

preview by Adam Vitale on 17 March, 2020

Phantasy Star Online 2 Closed Beta Test Impressions
Phantasy Star Online 2 Closed Beta Test Impressions

The MMO that the west never got is finally coming over, 8 years later - but is it looking worth the wait?

preview by James Galizio on 11 February, 2020

Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot - 5 things I love and 1 thing I don't
Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot - 5 things I love and 1 thing I don't

Impressions from the first 10 hours of gameplay.

preview by George Foster on 16 January, 2020

Branching Path: Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Hands-On Impressions
Branching Path: Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Hands-On Impressions

While not an RPG, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order feels like it might have a lot to offer to Metroidvania fans, when it launches next month.

preview by James Galizio on 17 October, 2019

The Outer Worlds Hands-On Impressions
The Outer Worlds Hands-On Impressions

We had the opportunity to sit down and play Obsidian Entertainment's upcoming RPG for a few hours, and here's our thoughts so far.

preview by James Galizio on 02 August, 2019

Fuga: Melodies of Steel Hands-On Impressions
Fuga: Melodies of Steel Hands-On Impressions

Back during Anime Expo 2019, we had the chance to sit down with CyberConnect2's first self-published title - Fuga: Melodies of Steel. Here's our thoughts on the upcoming game!

preview by James Galizio on 30 July, 2019

Next page