Bethesda announces The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood for PS4, XB1, PC, Stadia; set to release in June

Bethesda has announced The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood, the latest chapter in the MMORPG saga. It is set to release for PC/Mac/Stadia on June 1, followed by releases for PlayStation 4 & Xbox One on June 8. It will be priced starting at $39.99 for the base upgrade, with several pre-purchase bonuses and other bundles available. Check out Bethesda's post to get the full details on all the various purchase options available for new and existing players.

Structured similarly to previous expansions to the MMORPG, this newest chapter works as part of a soon upcoming 'Gates of Oblivion' storyline events in-game, which will start before Blackwood's release and continue afterward as a year-long storyline. The Blackwood expansion introduces a new zone, the titular Blackwood, as well as a new Companions System, storyline content, world events, dungeons, and more.

Bethesda also announced last year that The Elder Scrolls Online is coming to PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S at an undetermined point in the future.

Find a cinematic trailer, press release, and some screenshots below.

Destruction comes to Tamriel with the new Gates of Oblivion year-long adventure and Blackwood Chapter, arriving on PC/Mac and Stadia on June 1, and on Xbox One and PlayStation®4 consoles June 8. 


In the Gates of Oblivion adventure, you can explore a new storyline told throughout all of ESO’s 2021 content releases, including the upcoming The Elder Scrolls Online: Flames of Ambition DLC and The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Chapter. In this year-long saga, you will unravel the ambitions and schemes of the Daedric Prince Mehrunes Dagon 800 years before the events of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

Gates of Oblivion Releases:

  • Flames of Ambition (March 8 for PC/Mac and Stadia* and March 16 for Xbox One and PlayStation®4)
  • Blackwood (June 1 for PC/Mac and Stadia* and June 8 for Xbox One and PlayStation 4)
  • Unannounced Q3 DLC dungeon pack (date TBD)
  • Unannounced Q4 DLC story zone (date TBD)


The Elder Scrolls Online’s major Chapter update for 2021, Blackwood, will continue the Gates of Oblivion adventure and feature over 30 hours of new story content, allowing you to explore a colorful part of Tamriel where the diverse culture of the Argonians meets with Imperial ambitions.

This Chapter brings all-new adventures and features for you to enjoy, including:

  • A new zone: Blackwood
  • A fiendish main storyline that ties into the Gates of Oblivion adventure
  • The new Companions system
  • A new 12-player Trial: Rockgrove
  • New world events: Oblivion Portals
  • New delves, public dungeons, world bosses, and stand-alone quests
  • Updates and quality-of-life improvements

You can pre-purchase The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood right now to receive unique pre-purchase rewards at launch AND get immediate access to the game and both the Nagahide Welwa Ravager mount and Nightmare Bear Cub pet**.

Note that the Nightmare Bear Cub pet is available as a pre-purchase reward only until March 17, 2021, so don’t miss out on this fiery friend!

In addition to these items, you’ll receive the following pre-purchase rewards at launch:

  • Dremora Kynreeve Outfit 
  • Deadlands Wamasu Pet 
  • 1× Iron Atronach Crate 
  • 3× Blackwood Treasure Maps 
  • 2× Experience Scrolls

Right now, Blackwood is available in the following editions:

  • The Elder Scrolls Online Collection: Blackwood
  • The Elder Scrolls Online Collection: Blackwood CE
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Upgrade
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Upgrade Collector’s Edition

The two Collections above include not only the Blackwood Chapter, but also the base game and every previous Chapter in The Elder Scrolls Online’s history (MorrowindSummersetElsweyr, and Greymoor), making it the perfect jumping-on point for new players.

The Upgrade editions contain just Blackwood, ideal for existing players who already own the game and previous Chapters.

For a complete rundown of all of Blackwood’s editions, pre-purchase rewards, and Collector’s Edition items, check out this article.

Upon Blackwood’s launch in June, you can discover a new zone filled with adventure, challenge, and stories that make up part of the Gates of Oblivion year-long saga.  

Explore the Blackwood

Caught between the Argonian homeland and Imperial province of Cyrodiil, the region of Blackwood is beset by Daedric influence, and its people struggle to survive would-be tyrants and Oblivion-spawned evils alike.

Including the Imperial City of Leyawiin (first featured in The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion), the Niben Forest, and open wetlands of the Blackwood Bog, you’ll have the opportunity to explore a diverse land in strife, investigate the emerging Daedric threat, and discover all-new stories, challenges, and rewards not found anywhere else in Tamriel.

A Tale of Ambition

In Blackwood’s main storyline, you investigate a conspiracy involving the deposed Longhouse Emperors and uncover a deadly pact that spells doom for the people of Blackwood. Behind it all, of course, is the Prince of Destruction, Mehrunes Dagon himself, but what exactly are his plans are for Blackwood and Tamriel?

While a stand-alone tale that can be enjoyed in and of itself, the events of the Blackwood Chapter’s story progresses the larger Gates of Oblivion narrative that begins with the Flames of Ambition DLC and will continue throughout the rest of the year.

Gather New Allies

Share your adventures with fresh allies thanks to Blackwood’s new Companions system, allowing you to recruit, travel, and fight with an ally NPC complete with their own stories and character.

These unique warriors can join you in almost all of your adventures, level up their skills, and use customizable gear and combat abilities and behaviors—with this new system, you’ll never have to explore Tamriel alone again!


Your 2021 adventure begins with the Flames of Ambition DLC game pack, bringing two exciting new PvE challenges to Tamriel: The Cauldron and Black Drake Villa. In these challenging new dungeons, you must assault a shrine to the Prince of Destruction and race to uncover a mysterious tome before it is lost to fire and ash.

In your journeys, you’ll be joined by fan favorite characters Eveli Sharp-Arrow (from the Orsinium DLC) and the outcast Dremora Lyranth (from the base game and Imperial City DLC), plus have an opportunity to earn unique rewards including powerful new items and fantastic collectibles. What you discover within these two new dungeons will set up the events of The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood and the rest of the Gates of Oblivion storyline. 


Destruction comes to Tamriel in 2021 with the Gates of Oblivion year-long adventure and The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Chapter at its center. Are you ready to unravel the Prince of Destruction’s schemes? Get ready to once again stand against the forces of Oblivion!

*Available only in limited territories.

**Nightmare Bear Cub available only until March 17, 2021.

The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood