Blizzard announces the eighth expansion for World of Warcraft in Shadowlands

Blizzard Entertainment has officially announced the eighth expansion to World of Warcraft at Blizzcon 2019, titled World of Warcraft: Shadowlands. It is set to release in 2020.

This latest expansion will have players entering the titular Shadowlands to confront the mysteries and horrors of the afterlife. As Blizzard describes it "Sylvanas Windrunner, fallen leader of the Horde, has pierced the veil between Azeroth and the realm of the dead, setting in motion a series of events that threatens to upset the cosmic balance between life and death."

The expansion contains five new zones as well as four different Covenants that players can choose to align with, which will offer special new skills for each class. The leveling system will also be modified, with max level characters brought down to level 50, working toward a cap of 60 for the expansion.

Find two videos, a fact sheet, feature list, pre-purchase options, screenshots, and artwork below via Blizzard Entertainment. The official website is here.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Cinematic Trailer

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Features Overview

Fact Sheet

Sylvanas Windrunner has torn open the veil between Azeroth and the afterlife, jeopardizing the fragile balance between the realms of life and death. To ensure that the cosmic order is preserved, Azeroth’s champions must set out on a journey into the realms of the afterlife to deal with the consequences of Sylvanas’s actions.

World of Warcraft®: Shadowlands, the eighth expansion for Blizzard Entertainment’s acclaimed massively multiplayer online role-playing game, sends players to the ultimate undiscovered frontier—the Shadowlands, an infinite plane where the souls of the dead go to be reborn, serve, do battle, or endure endless torment. There, Azeroth’s heroes must forge bonds with the powerful beings who hold dominion over the Shadowlands—among them some of the most iconic figures in the Warcraft® universe—and acquire the unearthly powers they need to uncover the extent of Sylvanas’s designs.

  • EXPLORE THE REALM OF THE DEAD—For the first time in World of Warcraft, cross into the Shadowlands, a realm of infinite afterlives where wonders and horrors abound. Ride across the gleaming fields of Bastion, lose yourself among the gothic spires of Revendreth, confront the twisted visions of the Maw, and more.

  • PLEDGE YOURSELF TO A COVENANT AND SHAPE YOUR DESTINY—The Covenants who hold dominion over the zones introduced in Shadowlands are eager to recruit Azeroth’s champions. Each has unique story line and an array of powers they bestow upon those who pledge their cause. Choose between Bastion’s valiant Kyrian or Revendreth’s cunning Venthyr, fight for the mighty Necrolords of Maldraxxus, or seek renewal with the untamed Night Fae of Ardenweald.

  • TAKE ON THE BOUNDLESS CHALLENGE OF TORGHAST, TOWER OF THE DAMNED The vilest souls in existence are damned to suffer eternal torment in this horrific, otherworldly prison. This everchanging, roguelike challenge is open to solo players and groups of up to five, and those who brave its trials will earn some of the afterlife’s worthiest rewards.

  • JOURNEY THROUGH A NEW LEVELING EXPERIENCE—Level up your next hero through a fully revamped 1–50 experience where every level is meaningful, then advance to the new level cap of 60 in the Shadowlands.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Features

A host of new features and activities await players in World of Warcraft: Shadowlands. When they cross into the realm-between-realms, players will be able to:

  • Explore the Realm of the Dead: For the first time ever in World of Warcraft, players will cross into the Shadowlands and experience the wonders and horrors of the afterlife across five new zones—the gleaming fields of Bastion, the scarred battlefields of Maldraxxus, the eternal twilight of Ardenweald, the opulent keeps of Revendreth, and the horrific Maw.

  • Claim a Covenant’s Power: Players will be called upon to forge a bond with one of four Covenants that rule Shadowlands’ new zones, setting the tone for their journey through the expansion with a full Covenant Campaign. As they level up, they’ll get new abilities based on their choice, including class-specific abilities for each Covenant—as well as developing Soulbinds with specific Covenant members, which grant them access to that character’s specific traits and bonuses.

  • Ascend the Tower of the Damned: At the heart of the Maw lies Torghast, Tower of the Damned, a cursed otherworldly prison where the wickedest souls in the universe are locked away. Highly replayable and inspired by roguelike games, heroes are invited to explore its ever-changing halls and chambers and do battle with the minions of the Jailer, Torghast’s vile ruler. Those who brave its trials can claim legendary treasures and help free the heroic spirits wrongfully trapped within.

  • Every Level Is Meaningful:  Shadowlands will introduce a new leveling system, meant to provide a meaningful sense of advancement with every level achieved. Current max-level characters will begin Shadowlands at level 50 and work toward the new level cap of 60.

  • A New Army of the Dead Rises: To combat Sylvanas’ assault on Icecrown, Bolvar Fordragon— the revered former paladin who took on the mantle of Lich King to keep the Scourge at bay—has raised heroes from among all the peoples of Azeroth to bolster the Death Knights of Acherus. With Shadowlands, pandaren and all allied races will now be able to become Death Knights.

  • Improved Character Customization Options: A host of new appearance options for all races will be made available to players when they create new World of Warcraft characters (or alter existing ones at the in-game barber shop).

Pre-Purchase Options

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is available for pre-purchase digitally from the Blizzard Shop starting today, with three different options all designed with player preference in mind. The Base Edition of Shadowlands is available for $39.99 SRP, providing a new lower entry point compared to previous expansions. The Heroic Edition ($59.99) includes the expansion; a level-120 character boost; and the Ensorcelled Everwyrm mount, which provides access to a questline through which players can earn the Vestments of the Eternal Traveler transmogrification set. The Epic Edition ($79.99) includes the Anima Wyrmling pet; the Wraithchill cosmetic weapon effect; the Eternal Traveler’s Hearthstone, designed with a unique visual effect; and 30 days of game time, in addition to all of the contents from the Heroic Edition.

All bonuses from the Heroic and Epic Editions are unlocked immediately upon pre-purchase. In addition, pre-purchasing any edition of World of Warcraft: Shadowlands will open the ability for players to create pandaren and allied race Death Knights once the Visions of N’Zoth content update for the current expansion, Battle for Azeroth™, arrives in the coming months.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Screenshots
World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Cinematic Stills
World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Artwork