Pokemon Sword & Shield: All Legendary Pokemon available via Dynamax Adventure Pokemon Dens

One of the most exciting aspects of the new Pokemon Sword & Shield Crown Tundra downloadable content is that it brings back a lot of returning Legendary Pokemon. These legendaries are found in the new Dynamax Adventure mode, where you clear out Pokemon Dens - which in turn gives you an opportunity to catch a bunch of classic legendary Pokemon, among others.

Dynamax Adventures work as follows: you partner up with 3 other players - who can either be AI partners or better still real-life players. You pick a randomly-generated rental Pokemon to take into battle, and then head down into a Pokemon Den.

Inside the Pokemon Den, you'll go through a series of Dynamax Pokemon battles. After each battle you'll have branching paths and a chance for a random event - but also, crucially, you can swap your current borrowed Pokemon for the one you just defeated. This is important, as HP and status effects carry over from one battle to the next inside Pokemon Den Dynamax Adventures.

These battles will be challenging, and you'll have to work closely with your allies to ensure everyone survives. But work your way through the Den and you'll reach the 'Final Boss' of the Pokemon Den - and that is a Legendary Pokemon. 

This is a way of getting your hands on all the classic legendary Pokemon from generation 1-7, making their way to Pokemon Sword & Shield for the first time. This includes the legendary birds from the first generation, but it's worth noting that the new Galarian forms of Articuno, Zapdos and Moltres are found elsewhere. 


Dynamax Adventure Legendary Pokemon List

All of the below are the final bosses that can appear in that final Legendary Pokemon slot of a Dynamax Adventure. You can defeat these Pokemon for a chance to take them home with you as one of your very own Pokemon after the Pokemon Den is conquered - but you can only catch each Legendary once, a limitation that keeps you from farming legendary Pokemon.

As a reminder, this list features pretty much all previously-absent legendary Pokemon from past generations - but not Mythical Pokemon like Mew. They remain event-exclusive catches.

  • Articuno (Ice / Flying, Gen 1)
  • Zapdos (Electric / Flying, Gen 1)
  • Moltres (Fire / Flying, Gen 1)
  • Mewtwo (Psychic, Gen 1)
  • Raikou (Electric, Gen 2)
  • Entei (Fire, Gen 2)
  • Suicune (Water, Gen 2)
  • Lugia (Psychic / Flying, Gen 2)
  • Ho-Oh (Fire / Flying, Gen 2)
  • Latias (Dragon / Psychic, Gen 3)
  • Latios (Dragon / Psychic, Gen 3)
  • Kyogre (Water, Gen 3)
  • Groudon (Ground, Gen 3)
  • Rayquaza (Dragon / Flying, Gen 3)
  • Uxie (Psychic, Gen 4)
  • Mesprit (Psychic, Gen 4)
  • Azelf (Psychic, Gen 4)
  • Dialga (Steel / Dragon, Gen 4)
  • Palkia (Water / Dragon, Gen 4)
  • Heatran (Fire / Steel, Gen 4)
  • Giratina (Ghost / Dragon, Gen 4)
  • Cresselia (Psychic, Gen 4)
  • Tornadus (Flying, Gen 5)
  • Thundurus (Electric / Flying, Gen 5)
  • Reshiram (Dragon / Fire, Gen 5)
  • Zekrom (Dragon / Electric, Gen 5)
  • Landorus (Ground / Flying, Gen 5)
  • Kyurem (Dragon / Ice, Gen 5)
  • Xerneas (Fairy, Gen 6)
  • Yveltal (Dark / Flying, Gen 6)
  • Zygarde (Dragon / Ground, Gen 6) 
  • Tapu Koko (Electric / Fairy, Gen 7)
  • Tapu Lele (Psychic / Fairy, Gen 7)
  • Tapu Bulu (Grass / Fairy, Gen 7)
  • Tapu Fini (Water / Fairy, Gen 7)
  • Solgaleo (Psychic / Steel, Gen 7)
  • Lunala (Psychic / Ghost, Gen 7)
  • Nihilego (Rock / Poison, Gen 7)
  • Buzzwole (Bug / Fighting, Gen 7)
  • Pheromosa (Bug / Fighting, Gen 7)
  • Xurkitree (Electric, Gen 7)
  • Celesteela (Steel / Flying, Gen 7)
  • Kartana (Grass / Steel, Gen 7)
  • Guzzlord (Dark / Dragon, Gen 7)
  • Necrozma (Psychic, Gen 7)
  • Stakataka (Rock / Steel, Gen 7)
  • Blacephalon (Fire / Ghost, Gen 7)
Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more
Enjoyed this article? Share it!