Indie sidescroller RPG Death's Gambit launches on August 14

White Rabbit and Adult Swim Games have revealed that sidescroller indie action-RPG Death's Gambit will release on August 14 for PlayStation 4 and PC via Steam.

Originally revealed back in 2014, Death's Gambit is set on a medieval alien world infested with all sorts of dangerous beasts and monsters. The player character is an agent of Death, working to find the secrets of immortality.

A new post on PlayStation Blog goes into more details about the game's design philosophy. It also touches on some features, such as a new game plus mode and boss rematches.

Find a trailer, fact sheet, and screenshot set below.

Game Details

The promise of immortality lies at the heart of Siradon. As Death's right hand, challenge the undying guardians of the realm and endure the eternal struggle to purge their souls. But what reward awaits a faithful servant of Death?

Death's Gambit is a hardcore 2D action platformer with rich RPG elements. Master the precise combat, utilizing a wide variety of weapons and abilities to confront the horrors that lurk deep within Siradon. Explore a mysterious and unforgiving world to uncover the true price of immortality. Embrace the challenge of being an agent of Death. 

Key Features

  • Incredible Bosses - Hunt towering monsters and other creatures of legend. Each boss is a test of skill, requiring unique strategies to defeat.
  • Character Customization - Outfit your character with over 10 weapon types including bows, scythes, longswords, halberds and more. Harness 30 weapon abilities and spells to create your own build.
  • Expansive World - Travel across the beautifully rendered Obsidian Vale, Witch Woods, Sanguine City, and more. Meet quirky characters from all walks of life, and uncover their narrative threads and secrets.
  • Heroic Mode - Defeated bosses experience a second wind in an exponentially harder heroic mode accessible immediately after defeating them. Give yourself an all new challenge and master their new abilities.
  • Evocative Score - Experience an intricately crafted score composed by Kyle Hnedak, that sets the tone for Death's Gambit's world with over 2 hours of evocative music. 
  • New Game Plus - Complete Death's Gambit to unlock New Game+ in brackets of three to set your own difficulty, and endure the struggle all over again.
Death's Gambit Screenshots
Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more
Enjoyed this article? Share it!