Genshin Impact's 2.3 Maintenance - When it begins, ends, banners, and pre-installing

MiHoYo is already teasing Genshin Impact version 2.4’s Shenhe and Yun Jin debuts, but 2.3 is up first on November 23 and 24. Unfortunately, with the Shadows Amidst Sandstorms update, you can’t play those new characters just yet, but there’s still plenty to look forward to. The game will experience a bit of downtime on those dates, but we’ve got the details on when Genshin Impact will be down for maintenance, when the servers come back up, what banners you can expect from 2.3, and how to pre-install the update. 

When is Genshin Impact’s maintenance?

What banners are out with patch 2.3?

How do I pre-install Genshin Impact’s new update?

What’s coming in Genshin Impact’s 2.4 patch? 

When is the 2.3 update for Genshin Impact?

Genshin Impact’s maintenance for version 2.3, Shadows Amidst Sandstorms, begins November 23 and 24, depending on your timezone. Servers will officially go down on Wednesday, November 24 at 6:00 (UTC +8), and maintenance is expected to last five hours. Unfortunately, timezones get a bit confusing, so we’ve got a breakdown.

When you can expect Genshin Impact maintenance to begin in your timezone:

  • November 23, 2 pm PT
  • November 23, 4 pm CT
  • November 23, 5 pm ET
  • November 23, 10 pm GMT
  • November 24, 6 am HKT
  • November 24, 7 am JST
  • November 24, 9 am AEDT

When Genshin 2.3 releases in your timezone:

Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more
  • November 23, 7 pm PT
  • November 23, 9 pm CT
  • November 23, 10 pm ET
  • November 24, 3 am GMT
  • November 24, 11 am HKT
  • November 24, 12 pm JST
  • November 24, 2 pm AEDT

As usual, MiHoYo will give players 300 Primogems as compensation for the downtime; that’s 60 gems per hour. If problems arise, you’ll get additional currency as compensation. 

Who are the banner characters for patch 2.3?

Like the patches before it, version 2.3 will roll out in two phases. In this first phase, MiHoYo is changing things up a bit, and we’re getting two five-star banners to roll on. One banner includes the five-star Geo character, Albedo, with four-star characters Noelle, Bennet, and Rosaria. Your second option is for five-star Cryo hero Eula, who comes with the same four-star characters. 

Itto_Genshin_Impact_Banner.jpg

The first phase is just rerun characters, but 2.3’s last banner introduces a new five-star, Arataki Itto, and the four-star archer Gorou. They’re both in tune with the Geo element and available until Genshin Impact launches its 2.4 update. 

How can I pre-install Genshin’s new update? 

If you’re eager to play Genshin Impact as soon as the new update goes live, you should go ahead and pre-install those files. Downloading everything in advance is available on both mobile devices and the PC client. 

Genshin_Impact_Pre_Install_PC.jpg

Pre-installation on the PC client:

Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more
  • Open Genshin Impact’s client.
  • Select “Game Pre-installation” to the left of the “Launch” button
  • Click “Okay” after allotting file space.
  • Your update should go ahead and download; you can play as usual.

Pre-installation on iOS and Android apps:

  • Open the Genshin Impact app.
  • Go ahead and click log in.
  • In the lower-left corner, select “Pre-install resource package.”
  • Your update should go ahead and download; you can play as usual.
Genshin_Impact_iOS_pre-install.jpg

What’s coming up in Genshin Impact’s 2.4 patch?

If you’ve been lurking around social media, you may have noticed the Genshin Impact fandom can’t stop talking about Shenhe and Yun Jin. They aren’t out yet, but MiHoYo tweeted out the first official images of them. 

Their banners won’t go live until 2.3 concludes, and even then, the exact schedule isn’t official yet. So, take any leaks and early estimates with a grain of salt.

Enjoyed this article? Share it!