Tokyo Game Show 2021 - List of expected RPG-related streams

Tokyo Game Show has been the event where we can expect news on Japanese games and RPGs, and the 2021 edition is no exception. There will be a lot of streams from organizers and game publishers running throughout four days from September 30 to October 3.

We have compiled a list of TGS 2021 streams for RPGs and games that are relevant to us, and you can check it right below.

Update (September 25): More companies like Capcom have newly revealed their plans for TGS, and we have updated the list accordingly. CESA has also provided links to the upcoming streams. While each stream will have its own YouTube link, you can also catch all of them on Twitch and Facebook.

Kadokawa Games - Relayer

Relayer_210528_02.jpg

We haven't heard much about Kadokawa Games' Relayer since its initial reveal in late May 2021. However, Kadokawa will soon publish new gameplay footage and details on the upcoming mecha strategy RPG.

Kadokawa Games will publish a new trailer for Relayer while also announcing its release date before TGS even begins at midnight JST on September 30 (September 29 at 15:00 UTC). However, the game will also be included in TGS' Happinet Game Showcase 1st Stage on October 1 at 17:00 JST (08:00 UTC).

Relayer will also have a playable demo build, but only at the physical venue in Makuhari Messe. That means only members of the media and social media influencers currently residing inside Japan are able to try it out first-hand.

Capcom - Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak

Monster-Hunter-Rise_Sunbreak_KeyArt.jpg
Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more

Not long after revealing Monster Hunter Rise: Sunbreak via Nintendo Direct, Capcom confirmed that their TGS 2021 online program on 30 September at 22:00 JST (13:00 UTC) will be dedicated to the Monster Hunter series.

Other than details on Sunbreak, Capcom will also have information on the upcoming PC version of the original Monster Hunter Rise and further updates to Monster Hunter Stories 2. This stream will also have musical performances of the series' soundtracks.

505 Games - Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes

Eiyuden-Chronicles-Hundred-Heroes_20210613_06.png

505 Games' New Title Showcase stream will take place on October 1 at 18:00 JST (09:00 UTC). It will have a segment on Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes and its prequel Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising, the new games made by the original creators of the Suikoden series. Yoshitaka Murayama and character designer Junko Kawano will be present for behind-the-scenes talks about the new IP.

Other than Eiyuden Chronicle, 505 Games will also introduce a co-op monster-raising RPG titled Re:Legend.

Square Enix - Project Triangle Strategy and more

Project-Triangle-Strategy_20210217_01.jpg

Coverage for Square Enix games will begin with the Square Enix Presents TGS 2021 stream on October 1 at 19:00 JST (10:00 UTC). Although Final Fantasy XVI won't be present, their lineup will still be filled with many other highly-anticipated titles like Project Triangle Strategy and Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin.

We also have a separate article detailing Square Enix's full lineup and schedule in the event.

Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more

Level-5 - Megaton Musashi

Megaton-Musashi_20200928_22.jpg

Level-5's stream on October 1 at 21:00 JST (12:00 UTC) will be dedicated to Megaton Musashi. The company is currently preparing to release the customizable mecha action RPG for the PS4 and Switch on November 11 in Japan.

Sega & Atlus - Shin Megami Tensei V

Shin-Megami-Tensei-V_20210811_04.jpg

Sega and Atlus' joint primary stream will happen on October 1 at 22:00 JST (13:00 UTC). Sega will particularly reveal its new mobile RPG for a whole hour from 22:50 to 23:50 JST (13:50~14:50 UTC).

The main highlight from the group is obviously Shin Megami Tensei V. Its dedicated segment will be available in two parts running back-to-back on October 2 at 21:40~22:20 JST (12:40~13:20 UTC).

Nippon Ichi Software - New Strategy RPG

Nippon Ichi has a new strategy RPG that will be revealed in Sega and Atlus' TGS channel. The company's CEO Sohei Niikawa will be present at the stream, which will go live on October 2 at 19:00 JST (10:00 UTC).

Koei Tecmo - Blue Reflection: Second Light

Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more
Blue-Reflection-Second-Light_20210819_27.jpg

Koei Tecmo's primary streams will happen on October 2. There will be segments on Koei Tecmo's own channel dedicated to Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity and the Monster Rancher series that will run earlier at 17:00~18:10 JST (08:00~09:10 JST). The most important segment will begin on the TGS channel at 21:00 JST (12:00 UTC), where we will get more details on Gust's upcoming in-series crossover game, Blue Reflection: Second Light.

The company also has an unannounced title following Blue Reflection. This new game is supposed to mark the 25th anniversary of Gust's Atelier series. But we may have an idea of what that title could turn out to be.

NCSoft - Lineage W

NCSoft will have a special program dedicated to the upcoming MMORPG Lineage W on October 3 at 16:00 JST (07:00 UTC).

Bandai Namco - Sword Art Online and Tales Of series

Sword-Art-Online-Alicization-Lycoris_20200323_22.png

In a major departure from previous years, Bandai Namco will only feature a handful of titles at TGS 2021. Nevertheless, the company will still have a couple of streams for two of their major RPG franchises on October 3. The Sword Art Online series will lead the way at 17:30 JST (08:30 UTC), followed by the Tales Of series at 20:30 JST (11:30 UTC).

It is also worth noting that Bandai Namco opts to hold more of their own streams ahead of TGS. For instance, the Super Robot Wars series will only be featured in its own stream on September 22 at 21:00 JST (12:00 UTC). The upcoming original mobile game Tales of Luminaria will also have another stream on September 24.

miHoYo - Genshin Impact

Advertisement. Keep scrolling for more
Genshin-Impact_20210820_06.png

A stream dedicated to miHoYo's Genshin Impact will go live on October 3 at 21:00 JST (12:00 UTC). We can expect more new content for the game to be shown here.

Enjoyed this article? Share it!